Sunday, July 28, 2013

Panique outlasts Raquin in heated bid for 37th MILO Marathon finale post

MILO shatters record headcount 
with 42,214 runners in Manila race

Elite runners Eric Panique and Luisa Raterta blew the competition away at the 42K division race of the 37th National MILO Marathon Manila qualifying leg Sunday at the SM Mall of Asia Grounds, Pasay City. A record-shattering 42,214 runners joined the country’s premier footrace, marking the largest number of participants in a single race in the history of the MILO Marathon.

Along with other 42K qualifiers, Panique and Raterta each took home a cash prize of Php 50,000, a trophy and a coveted spot at the National Finals in December for their respective victories. To increase the level of competition this year, MILO will sponsor this season’s MILO Marathon King and Queen to the 2014 Paris Marathon next April.

28-year old Panique settled the score towards the finish line and clocked in at a swift 2:30:20.51, beating Condura Skyway Marathon 2013 Filipino champion Irineo Raquin (2:30:20.73) with just 22 milliseconds to spare. Last year’s MILO Marathon Manila Eliminations champion Jeson Agravante placed a distant third with a time of 2:41:55.

Panique, who only started joining the National MILO Marathon in 2004, has since received numerous awards and accolades, including the 36th MILO Marathon Bacolod eliminations crown. The elite runner recounts his close call against a tough rival at the finish line. “I beat Raquin by a mere inch and I feel very fortunate to have done so. We had kept a close distance since the 25th kilometer and maintained our pace until the last second,” he said. Panique said he has yet to decide whether he will be competing at the 37th MILO Marathon National Finals or at the Southeast Asian Games in Myanmar.

In the distaff side, Raterta crossed the finish line at 3:14:17, way ahead of 2012 MILO Marathon National Finals 42K women’s second runner-up Jennylyn Nobleza (3:23:27) and Geralden Sealza (3:32:40).

“I’ve kept a fast pace from the first few hours until the last 10 kilometers of the track. It was a very challenging race, not only in terms of route, but also because I was running alongside some of the country’s finest runners,” said Raterta. As a mother of three, she shares that her fervor for running has kept her family close. “My husband is a former elite runner who shares the same passion for running that I have. We also try to encourage our children to be active in sports and to always be humble and level-headed.” Raterta’s daughter Leonalyn placed first in today’s 3K division race at an impressive 11:12.

In the 21K race, Richard Salaño (1:14:36) and Monica Torres (1:29:57) won their respective divisions and each received a cash prize of Php 10,000, a trophy and a spot in the finale. Actress, singer and fitness advocate Angelika Dela Cruz also ran in the 21K track, while local celebrities Aubrey Miles, Troy Montero, Karylle, LJ Reyes, Carl Guevarra, Arthur Solinap and Carlo Gonzales took part in the 5K and 3K divisions earlier today.

“MILO is very proud of surpassing our target headcount for the Manila qualifying leg, as well as of inspiring more runners, particularly the youth, to lace up their running shoes and take on the challenge of a marathon race,” said Andrew Neri, MILO Sports Executive. “The rise of local talent among the 42,214 marathoners in today’s race launches bright possibilities for the finale. We are looking forward to seeing an all-Filipino finish in December to bring pride to our home soil at the Paris Marathon next year.”

With the invaluable support of MILO Marathon runners and partners, the Help Give Shoes advocacy, a program initiated by MILO in 2010, provides pairs of running shoes to underprivileged students from public schools across the country. A total of 1,000 pairs were delivered to beneficiary schools today in Manila, bringing the total shoe count to 27,200. Manuel Quezon City Elementary School, San Diego Elementary School QC, Dagat Dagatan Elementary School Navotas, Hulo Elementary School Mandaluyong, Fourth Estate Elementary School Paranaque, North Bay Blvd. Elementary School Navotas, East Rembo Elementary School Makati, Amado Reyes Elementary School Mandaluyong, Cayetano Arellano High School and La Paz Elementary School Makati were among the advocacy’s beneficiaries.

The qualifying race will commence in Iloilo on August 4, before advancing to Dumaguete (August 11), Tagbilaran (September 15), Cebu (September 22), Cagayan de Oro (September 29), Butuan (October 6), Davao (October 13), General Santos (October 20), Baguio (November 3), Dagupan (November 10), Tarlac (November 17) and Angeles (November 24). The 37th MILO Marathon National Finals will then be on December 8 at the SM Mall of Asia grounds.

The 37th National MILO Marathon Manila race is made possible by Timex, the Bayview Park Hotel Manila, Reebok, SMART, Gatorade, Sennheiser, and SM Mall of Asia, along with endorsements from the Department of Education, Philippine Sports Commission and the Philippine Olympic Committee. For more information on the race and its advocacy, visit the MILO marathon website or access the MILO Philippines fanpage on Facebook. Follow MILO on Twitter (@MILOPH).

**Press release from Milo

Like this post? Subscribe to Manila Life by Email
Like Manila Life on Facebook to be updated.
blog comments powered by Disqus


Related Posts with Thumbnails