Friday, October 31, 2014

Grand slam champs Team NCR gain Perpetual Trophy at the 2014 MILO Little Olympics Finals

Host region wins third consecutive championship; secure Perpetual Trophy

Student-athletes of the National Capital Region celebrated their hard-earned victory as they were crowned Overall Champions at the recently concluded MILO Little Olympics National Finals held in Marikina City Sports Center, Marikina City. Clinching a grand slam of three consecutive championships, the host region accomplished their mission of taking home the coveted MILO Little Olympics Perpetual Trophy.

Thousands of student-athletes, coaches and spectators from all regions came together as one in the country’s most prestigious interschool sporting competition. The regional teams gave their very best as they exhibited their athleticism, sportsmanship and camaraderie in their quest for glory in the three-day event.

The opening ceremony was graced by prominent guests of honor including Marikina City Mayor Hon. Mayor Del De Guzman, Philippine Olympic President Jose “Peping” Cojuango, POC Vice president Joey Romasanta, Regional Director for Department of Education of National Capital Region Dr. Luz Almeda, Nestle Chief Executive Officer and Chairman John Martin Miller, and Nestlé Business Executive Manager for Beverages Sherilla Bayona. MILO Champions, Japoy Lizardo, Christina Garcia-Long and renowned marathon runner Rio de la Cruz took part in the festivities and aided student-athletes as they lit the Olympic flame, signifying the commencement of the games.

Team NCR stamped their supremacy in the competition, finishing with an impressive 647.5 overall points, with a difference of nearly 85 points against its most heated rival Team Visayas. The Bisdaks garnered an overall score of 563 points in second place, while Team Mindanao secured third place with 436 points, and Team Luzon placed fourth with 393.5 points.  

Team Visayas was the main feature of the elementary division, posting a total division score of 315 points. The Bisdaks excelled in individual and team sports, including Football, Boys’ Swimming and Boys’ Volleyball. Team NCR followed the lineup in second place with 298.5 points, Team Mindanao in third place with 232.5 points, and Team Luzon in fourth place with 174 points.

In the secondary division, Team NCR was the star, establishing a total division score of 349 points. The Big City student-athletes topped the ranks in Athletics, Football, Sepak Takraw, Swimming and Girls’ Volleyball. Not to be overlooked are Team Visayas in second place with 248 points, followed by Team Luzon with 219.5 points in third place, and Team Mindanao with 203.5 points in fourth place. 

In line with MILO’s 50th year anniversary, the leading beverage brand awarded 50 Most Outstanding Athletes at the closing ceremonies. The awardees were selected from each sporting event, both in the elementary and secondary divisions. To further encourage the student-athletes to aim for excellence in sports and in life, the 50 awardees were each given a cash prize of Php10,000 worth of educational assistance fund, a plaque of recognition, and a one year supply of MILO products.

“The MILO Little Olympics is a big part of MILO’s longstanding commitment in giving our promising young athletes the best sporting experience through quality competitions. The success of this event would not be possible without the support of our partners, the Department of Education, and the local government, as led by Mayor Del De Guzman and the City of Marikina,” said MILO Sports Executive Robbie de Vera. “We at MILO are immensely grateful to the families and schools who continue to nurture our future champions in becoming the best not just in sports, but also in life. We would like to congratulate everyone, and we cannot wait to see our young athletes once again in the next season of the MILO Little Olympics.” 

In 2015, Team Mindanao will host the 28th MILO Little Olympics in Cagayan De Oro, the City of Golden Friendship. All of the regional teams will be back on full throttle as they embark on their road to claim the championship title for the next season.

The 2014 MILO Little Olympics was made possible by Wilson, Mikasa, Molten, Butterfly, Marathon, Smart, 2Go Travel, and the City of Marikina, led by Mayor Del De Guzman, along with endorsements from the Department of Education, Philippine Sports Commission and the Philippine Olympic Committee.

For more information on MILO Philippines, log on to the official website ( or the MILO Philippines Facebook page ( Follow MILO on Twitter (@MiloPH) and Instagram (@MiloPhilippines).

Like this post? Subscribe to Manila Life by Email
Like Manila Life on Facebook to be updated.

blog comments powered by Disqus


Related Posts with Thumbnails