Saturday, October 31, 2015

Team Visayas reclaim title; records shattered at 2015 MILO Little Olympics National Finals

After three years of missing out on the title, Team Visayas were finally crowned once again as overall National Champions at the recently concluded 2015 MILO Little Olympics National Finals. Over 1,200 athletes representing their schools from all over the Philippines battled head-to-head in a three-day event on October 23-25 in Sta. Cruz, Laguna. A total of 13 competitive sports were played, namely, Athletics, Badminton, Basketball, Chess, Football, Gymnastics, Lawn Tennis, Swimming, Table Tennis, Taekwondo, Volleyball, Sepak Takraw and Scrabble.

The opening ceremony, which preceded the games, was graced by prominent guests of honor including Hon. Ramil Hernandez, Governor of Laguna, and Sherilla Bayona, Senior Vice President, Nestle Philippines. Elite marathoner and MILO Champion Rio Dela Cruz also took part in the festivities.

Team Visayas held the overall champions crown for three straight years from 2009 to 2011, before relinquishing the throne to Team NCR-South Luzon, who held the title from 2012-2014. Victory eluded the Bisdaks for so long, but now, winning was indeed sweeter for them, as they were able to snatch the title on NCR-South Luzon’s home ground. The 2015 Perpetual Trophy is now in the hands of the Bisdaks after what was the closest fight between the two fierce rivals in the history of the MILO Little Olympics, with Visayas edging NCR-South Luzon by only 2.5 overall championship points.

Visayas, who fielded their strongest team to date to the competition with student-athletes from Iloilo, Bohol, Dumaguete, Aklan, Capiz, Rojas, Guimaras and Antique, reaped its rewards as they finished with a total of 577 overall championship points. NCR-South Luzon settled for second place with 574.5 points, while Mindanao came in third with 422 points, and North-Central Luzon in fourth with 316.5 points.

In the secondary division, the Bisdaks excelled in individual and team sports, including football, volleyball, taekwondo, badminton and chess. Visayas clinched the top spot with a total of 306.5, followed by NCR-South Luzon with 295.5 points, Mindanao with 196.5 points, and North-Central Luzon with 149.5 points. 

Meanwhile, in the elementary division, NCR-South Luzon dominated in athletics, badminton, sepak takraw, table tennis and volleyball. They placed first in the elementary division with 279.5 points, relegating Visayas to second place with 270.5 points, Mindanao in third place with 225.5 points, and North-Central Luzon in fourth place with 167 points.

A total of 23 records were shattered during the competition, with 14 new records posted in Athletics and 9 new records in Swimming. Record breakers for Athletics include Tyrone Flores for Shot Put and Discus Throw secondary boys division, Elvy Villagoniza for Long Jump secondary girls division, Efrelyn Democer for the Discus Throw secondary girls division, Jie Ann Calis for the 800M event secondary girls division, Morito Perez for the 800M secondary boys division, Hussien Lorana for the 500M event elementary boys division, Jessel Lumapas for the 400M event secondary girls division, Sunshine Acaso for the 400MH event secondary division, Alexandra Euste for the 400MH event elementary girls division, Carmela Therese Ublini for the 200M event secondary girls division, amd Antonio Pineda for the 110MH event secondary boys division.

Record breakers for Swimming include Kevin Troy Dagum for 100M backstroke secondary boys division, Christian Paul Amor for 200M backstroke and 200M freestyle secondary boys division, Portia Kate Doragos for 100M breaststroke secondary girls division, Raven Faith Alcoseba for 100M backstroke and 200M backstroke secondary girls division, and Jules Katherine Ong for 200M freestyle secondary girls division.

The Most Outstanding Athlete award was also presented to 42 students who shone in their individual sports. Among those included were 18 athletes from the Visayas, 14 from NCR-SL, 9 from Mindanao and 1 from North Central Luzon. MILO believes that these student-athlete awardees are young champions look out for in the future who may represent the country in international competitions.

“We at MILO would like to congratulate all our little champions who have shown great dedication and excellence in their sports. You have truly made all of us proud,” shared Robbie De Vera, MILO Sports Executive. “We would also like to thank all of our organizers, partners, coaches, teachers and parents who have been invaluable in making the success of the 2015 MILO Little Olympics possible. We look forward to your continued support as we build more champions next season!”

The 2015 MILO Little Olympics is made possible by Wilson, Mikasa, Molten, Butterfly, Marathon, Yonex, and 2Go Travel, along with endorsements from the Department of Education, Philippine Sports Commission and the Philippine Olympic Committee.
For more information on MILO Philippines, log on to the official website ( or the MILO Philippines Facebook page ( Follow MILO on Twitter (@MiloPH) and Instagram (@MiloPhilippines).

Like this post? Subscribe to Manila Life by Email
Like Manila Life on Facebook to be updated.
blog comments powered by Disqus


Related Posts with Thumbnails